Last weekend my body rested supine on a couch in front of the TV set, while the Food Network stole my whole attention. Suddenly, a chilling flashback kidnapped my thoughts and flew them to Poland; back to my childhood days filled with crepes and potato pancakes. The massive craving that arose during that memory trip was so overpowering that I instantaneously scraped myself off of the couch, and marched into the kitchen in a sleepwalking manner.

25 minutes later, stop watch in hand, I had immerged carrying a plate stacked with 5 perfect crepes and a freshly made “jam” for the topping. Now, I use quotation marks for a reason. Here’s what happened. I had nothing to smear on my crepes, and after a quick scan of the kitchen countertop and the inside of the refrigerator, all I found quasi-suitable was a couple of green apples and a carrot. Into the food processor they went, along with a tsp of vanilla extract, 1 tbsp of cane sugar, 3 grains of salt and a dash of cinnamon.

Agi smile

I gave it a good whipping for 1-2 minutes, which resulted in a bowl of an apple-carrot mousse. I spread a spoonful of the goods on a crepe, rolled it up, and bit on one end. The taste was… pleasant, however ever so slightly too RAW for what I consider comfort food. Hence, I decided to make my own jam for the next batch of crepes, whenever the mood strikes again.

Let’s get started. Crepes are as complicated to make as scrambled eggs. It’s really silly easy. Traditionally the batter calls for milk, flour and eggs with a pinch of salt and sugar. (My twist on the traditional crepes recipe is almond milk and whole-wheat flour.) After mixing together all ingredients it should have a consistency of a thick liquid. Then, using either the blender it was mixed in or simply a small ladle, pour a small amount on a hot skillet greased with a touch of cooking oil. Make sure a thin layer of the batter covers the whole surface of the skillet by tilting it in all directions. After all, you want a perfectly round crepe, don’t you? Give it a minute or two, until the batter sets, and flip it over with a spatula. You want both sides lightly browned.

The following proportions should allow for 10-12 Crepes: eggs

– 2 eggs

– 1+1/4 cup of whole wheat flour

– 1 cup of almond milk (unsweetened)

– a pinch of sea salt

– 2 tsp of raw cane sugar

To make my Strawberry-Mango Jam with a secret ingredient I used:

– 2 lbs of fresh strawberries (remember to wash’em and remove the stems!)

– 4 ripe mangoes (mine were so ripe, they were on sale – yay!)

– 1 orange

– 1 lemon

– 1/2 cup of raw cane sugar

– 4-5 cloves

– 1 tsp of cinnamon

– and a good pinch of my secret ingredient – cayenne pepper (AHA!)

Quarter strawberries, dice mangoes, toss into a non-stick pan and set over a medium-high heat. Add sugar, cloves, cinnamon, pepper, and mix with a wooden spoon. Zest the lemon and the orange, juice the same lemon (removing all seeds), and add all to the pot. Peel the orange like an apple, including the pith, and cut out the sections in between the see-through membranes. Throw the orange slices into the pot with the rest of the strawberry-mango potion. Bring to a boil and reduce the heat to low. At this point your kitchen will start to fill with this ambrosial fruity fragrance that will make your knees wiggle. Compose yourself and let the jam cook for a couple of hours, stirring frequently. Turn off the heat and rest overnight. Cook for another hour the following day, until it’s thick and heavenly delightful. Grab a few clean glass jars with dry lids, and fill them with jam while still steaming hot (BE CAREFUL!!!), twist the lid on tight, and put aside to cool. Store in a pantry for future breakfast toasts, Sunday morning crepes, or an occasional spoonful of paradise in the PM hours…

Jam in jars

I hope the Agi-Crepes and Strawberry-Mango Jam will keep your hands full till tomorrow, when I’ll deliver the second part of the SKILLET FEST – the Potato Pancakes along with my version of Tzatziki Sauce.

Oh, I’m hungry! Bye, bye.