I started the day rollerblading with Mel in Santa Monica on the beach. She has moved back to LA recently, after having escaped the city for over a year, and I find myself starved for her company. She’s a true inspiration in my efforts to live my life in balance and respectful of Mother Nature.

We strolled down the boardwalk across the abundance of white sands, our skin licked by first and still shy rays of sun, and we breathed in the ocean air.

After an hour of this constant motion, all chatted out, drenched and happy, I rushed home for lunch. Into the kitchen I walked, the refrigerator’s door ajar, and what did my eyes see? Nothing. There was no left over quinoa salad, there was no fish from last night’s dinner, there was no turkey for a sandwich, and the produce compartment echoed back: “Empty!”

I refused to go grocery shopping when my belly screamed to be fed. I attacked the pantry cabinet and found stuck 3 small cans of water-packed tuna adjacent to a jar of pickles. Eureka! I’ll have a beautiful tuna salad sammy.

Into a bowl went:

– all tuna, drenched of water

– 4 small pickles, finely chopped

– 2 hard boiled eggs, cooled off, and then chopped

– 1/3 of a cup fresh green onions (I grow my own), chopped

– handful of fresh herbs (I had parsley and dill), finely chopped

– 1/4 of a cup low fat mayonnaise

– 1/4 of a cup non-fat greek yogurt

– 1 tbsp of dijon mustard

– sea salt & freshly ground black pepper to taste…

…all mixed together into a perfect and delicious tuna salad. One scoop covered a whole wheat toast, topped with a slice of an heirloom tomato and radish for crunch. A perfect lunch.

Tuna Sandwich

A hungry belly’s ultimate goal is a Happy Belly. There’s always food in my kitchen, even when it seems the opposite. Always, just a few ingredients and a few easy steps away.

Bon apetite!