I read in a magazine once that the best day for grocery shopping is Wednesday. After a thorough analysis of the results of a poll the authors ran, and based on the database collected, it was concluded the stores were least crowded on the third day of a week.

A whole lot of people must have read the same snippet in the magazine, as my local Trader Joe’s was bursting with fruit colors and soap bubbles when I arrived right past the lunch hour yesterday. Shopping carts were jamming at the front door, people pushing through, cars coming in and out of the parking lot, food disappearing from the shelves. You’d think Armageddon was coming, but I checked on my calendar that in fact March 3rd was WHAT IF CATS AND DOGS HAD OPPOSABLE THUMBS? DAY.

That surely explains the commotion at the grocery on the least frequented day in a week.

The last few days have been strongly affected by a craving rollercoaster. Since Monday, I think I stepped out of the refrigerator and paused consumption to take care of three things only – to walk Cosmo (as it would be embarrassing), brush my teeth (awkward), and when going to sleep (messy!). My right bicep is sore from the constant lifting forkfuls and spoonfuls of food to the opening in my head.

You know what I miss? I never thought I would say this but I miss being hungry. I want to feel empty for a change. Here’s a solution. While I wait for the estrogen levels to drop, I shall fill my refrigerator with foods that are filling, packed with fiber and digestion-boosting enzymes, just like my WHEAT BERRY SALAD. It tastes divine. It looks beautiful and appetizing. It’s crunchy and labor-intensive for the jaws, forcing you to chew your meal longer while enjoying its interlacing flavors and working out at the same time. Brilliant!

WHEAT BERRY SALAD

-       1 – 1.5 cups wheat berries, cooked

-       1 romaine lettuce, chopped

-       1 sm package of mixed greens

-       2 cucumbers, peeled, seeded and chopped

-       1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped

-       1/2 cup scallions, chopped

-       1/3 cup toasted pine nuts, cooled off

-       3 tbsp goat cheese, crumbled

-       1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped

DRESSING

-       1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

-       1/3 cup flax seed oil (or use only olive oil)

-       1/4 cup white balsamic vinegar

-       1 tsp Dijon mustard

-       1 tbsp honey

-       pinch of salt, pepper and garam masala to taste

Bowl. Toss. Dress. Toss. Serve. Eat.

Abracadabra, cravings be GONE! P-O-O-F.

